Community

West Virginia Stroke Support Groups:

  1. WVU Medicine, Morgantown, WV: Meets the 1st Wednesday of the month at 530 pm in Conference room 3A/3B, on the 4th floor behind the cafeteria.

Contact Person: Angela Schaffer RN, SCRN, CEN; schaffera@wvumedicine.org, 304-598-6395

 

  1. Broaddus Hospital, Philippi, WV: Meets the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 530 pm in the Professional Building Conference Room

Contact Person: Catherine Schola, RN; schola.catherine@dhswv.com, 304-457-8153

 

  1. HealthSouth, Morgantown, WV: Meets the 3rd Wednesday of every OTHER month at 5pm

Contact Person: Angie Springston CCC/SLP; Angie.Springston@healthsouth.com, 304-285-1035

 

  1. HealthSouth Western Hills, Parkersburg, WV: Meets the 3rd Thursday of the month at 530 pm

Contact Person: Barbara Carpenter, RN; Barbara.Carpenter@healthsouth.com, 304-420-1363

 

  1. Cabell Huntington Hospital, Huntington, WV: Meets the last Monday of the month at 6 pm in the Neurosciences Conference room.

Contact Person: Mitzi Beckett, RN; mitzi.beckett@chhi.org, 304-526-6317

 

  1. CAMC Health System, Charleston, WV: Meets Quarterly at 3 pm in the CAMC General Hospital 2 South Rehab Dining Room (2nd floor)

Contact Person: Casey Carpenter; casey.j.carpenter@camc.org, (304) 388-3920 or (304) 388-7830

 

Charleston Area Medical Center Stroke Support Group

The group meets at CAMC General Hospital in rehabilitation services one evening quarterly to discuss various aspects of coping with a stroke. Topics may include stroke education, helping a loved one after a stroke, etc. For more information contact Casey Carpenter, stroke support group team leader, or CAMC General Hospital, Stroke Support Group, 501 Morris St., Charleston, WV 25301. All meetings will be held at CAMC General Hospital on 2 South in the Staff Education Room at 6 p.m. (signs will be posted) unless noted otherwise.

camc.org/strokesupportgroup

Resources for Recovery

AHA/ASA Patient Education Materials

Let’s Talk About Stroke, patient education topics AHA/ASA

NSA List of Aphasia Applications for iPad/iPhones

Hope: A Stroke Recovery Guide

My Life Check: Live Better with Life’s Simple 7

Everyday Choices

Helpful Links

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply